Skip to content
Making Bullet Resistant Windows

Making Bullet Resistant Windows

Bullet resistant windows are designed to resist bullets without shattering, by absorbing the ammunition and their energy.  Levels of resistance are determined by three objectives: glass material and infrastructure, impact severity, and volume of projectiles fired. These levels are tested by the Underwriter’s Laboratory (UL).

Testing and Rating of Bullet Resistant Windows

The Underwriter’s Laboratory is a non-profit organization that has established tests to check the strength of bullet resistant windows. Their tests are widely accepted based on their credentials of being one of very few Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories authorized to perform safety testing by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

 Window Levels

 Eight window levels have been designed and tested.

 Level 1:

Categorizes windows able to withstand fire from a small caliber handgun; at least three 9mm FMJ’s traveling at 1,175 feet per second. This glass is best suited for small businesses as a crime deterrent.

 Level 2:

Describes windows capable of holding fire from higher caliber handguns; a minimum of three shots of 0.357 magnum soft points traveling at 1,250 f/s. This glass is more appropriate for customer-facing facilities, but it can also be used for buildings with a higher security threat like banks or jewelry stores.

 Level 3:

This includes bullet resistant windows that withstand a minimum of three shots of .44 magnum rounds at a velocity of 1350f/s. This is mostly used for greater risk premises like police stations, schools, and government facilities.

 Level 4:

Applies to bullet resistant windows efficient at holding to a minimum of one round from a .30 caliber rifle traveling at a velocity of 2540f/s.

 Level 5:

Covers bullet resistant windows withstand at least one 7.62mm rifle FMJ traveling at least 2750f/s.

 Level 6:

This is a step up from Level 1 and is designed to bear a minimum of five 9mm rounds traveling at an elevated minimum velocity of 1400f/s.

 Level 7:

Describes bullet resistant windows designed to absorb numerous rounds from a 5.56 rifle FMJs with a velocity of at least 3080f/s.

 Level 8:

Defines bullet resistant windows of the highest level of protection available in bullet resistant glass. It can withstand a minimum of five shots from a 7.62mm rifle.

Levels 4 to 8 are designed for settings where the security threats are the highest i.e., government buildings and military bases.

Covenant Security Equipment is one of the leading suppliers of bullet resistant products in the U.S. Choosing the level of bullet resistant glass that is right for you can be confusing; we can help.

Previous article The Pickup Window